April 3, 2014

  • C is for the Cleric’s Cat

    DSCN7128

    Kittens and cats have only been temporary residents of my primarily dog household

    DSCN7219

    BUT

    Our relationship with cats evidently began 12,000 years ago at Gobekli Tepe, images

    the oldest known stone religious building, a Stonehenge built before metals. 5809896725_e329e66cd7_z Here is a ferocious lion, on a small pillar

    Source: http://www.ancientworlds.net/aw/Article/1236649

    Recently during the SOCHI games, I marveled at the cats of St. Petersburg’s Hermitage Museum,…

    search

    Check out this lovely video!

    http://youtu.be/LaTU93l4dmA

    Some seventy former street cats live at the Hermitage, where, they have their very own underground cat infirmary and three full-time volunteers to care for them.

    Source: http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/culture/2012/09/russias-museum-cats.html

    The Minister's Cat game was one of those games, which we often played on long car trips to entertain children and ourselves and produce abit of creativity with the English language....

    1. The Minister's cat was an adventurous cat she ate avocados atrociously ...
    2. The Minister's cat is a busy cat she beats beets.
    3. The Minister's cat is a clergy cat who creeps churches cautiously.

    Take the alphabet and add an adverb, verb, noun and adjective to the sentence all-starting with the same letter of your turn. Often some hilarious results or re-use of certain words like x-ray and zapped on the more difficult letters.

    Do you remember such games on longer summer trips? I–Spy. Counting out of area license plates?

     

    In these days of connection to cell phones,LG-A340-3 I-pads and other electronic devices I wonder what has been lost in family communication?

    Are you a cat or dog person?

Comments (7)

  • A wonderful post -- I've always had cats and never dogs! I love the Minster's Cat game -- we used to guess the Capitol City of out-of-state license plates, and I actually recently had a discussion about where Charleston is with a friend who was travelling to SC (it's capitol of WVA!).

    • Janet, We also did games where the next place name would start with the last letter and could not be repeated...

  • Love the cats! I like both dogs and cats, but I'm definitely a cat person. I love their personalities and independence.

    I remember being bored on road trips with my parents. But as a parent myself, my husband and I would try to entertain the kids by making up silly songs, or playing the 'letter game' which involved saying the name of a street, or company name on a billboard or vehicle, etc., that started with A, and then B, as we saw them, and so on.

    • Thanks for stopping by Lynn. Think we are either cat or dog persons. My dogs have always been very social and when children were younger allergies abounded so no cats, except outdoor ones. The letter game could almost be applied to the current A_Z challenge.Those word games not only made us think, passed the time and not glued as often now to texting.

  • I've always been a cat and dog person, though cats seem to accumulate faster. (We used to live on a dead end road where they'd get dumped.)

    • Thanks for stopping by Joy. Yes the animals definitely a pert of the family. Sorry to hear about that innane practise of " dumping " the cats. In this day and age there are many rescues plus aloso the common sense spayyour pets.

  • Dog person. I like cats well enough, but hubby's not so keen on them. But as much as my dog aggravates me, I love him : )

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories