September 22, 2013

  • Apple cider and other fall activities..

    The trees in the river valley  are just starting to change color and with regret I still want o hold onto summer.

    DSCN6821

    Today I rode the bike down Mill Creek ravine and

    DSCN6820

    across the North Saskatchewan River,with the view of downtown Edmonton, note the motorboat and the tourist paddleboat.Met a friend at the Shaw Center and locked up the bike.DSCN6819

     

    My flowers in the yard are in full bloom and a few veggies as well.DSCN6744.jpg

    Apples, apples, apples..DSCN6763.

    As a member of a local fruit rescue group OFRE ( Operation Fruit Rescue Edmonton ) https://www.facebook.com/groups/231894110159342/?fref=ts

    Not only have been picking apples butDSCN6762 pressing as well. A bicycle powered press!DSCN6761 At the Devonian Gardens at the annual Fruit Growers Festival! We made fresh cider all day, gave out samples, sold some jelly, had many curious younger helpers and chatted with other growers.

    My own activities have included peeling,DSCN6756 dehydrating apples DSCN6755 and making some apple plum tarts. DSCN6758

Comments (5)

  • Oh, my, those fruits and veggies look good -- and the plum/apple tarts too! I spent today getting a camera raincoat, and gloves and headgear to keep me warm in Churchill next month -- it's hard to find here, as it doesn't get that cold, and the winter ski season doesn't start for another couple of months! I am getting excited, though!

  • That is quite impressive. I have a grape press, but I never thought of making my own apple press. I think that would make a great winter project.

  • @ slmret ...exciting to hear about your trip...there should still be enough light at that point..never been to Churchill but heard lots of good things about the tours.

    @ Aloysius_son...this press was built by the fruit rescue association and has been fun to share. One can rent though from some local shops fro about $20/day

  • thank you for those comments! :) Love the apple pictures! Yum!

  • All of this apple press and making of cider excites me because I come back from Normandy where I visited a cider factory . Many apple tree in this area of France . They make cider and also an alcohol called "Calvados" ;
    Your veggies are beatiful , bravo to the gardener .I know a xangan who is a "frantic" mountain biker ( Judyrutrider )

    We are in autumn now but the weather still is sweet here .
    I wish the same for you
    Love
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My recent posts..

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories