Day: January 3, 2010

  • Birding...sort of?

    First of all I am not  a birder, but do enjoy the outdoors & last year this time in Gjoa Haven counted about 5 ravens in the Christmas Backyard Bird Count http://www.audubon.org/cbc which runs from Dec 14 to Jan 5. 

    Well weather prospects for Saturday were: Cloudy with 30 percent chance of flurries early in the morning. Clearing late in the morning. Wind becoming northwest 20 km/h gusting to 40 in the morning then light early in the afternoon. High minus 17. Wind chill minus 28 BRRR.

    The major count in Edmonton was done on Dec. 20,  but this one was for Wabanum and Lake Isle. So with dogs, binoculars, packed lunch, X-C skis, extra mitts and boots ( but NO shovel, a mistake later realized ) headed west of the city about 60 kms to meet at noon at the Fallis General Store.

    Given a map of the area which is acerages, small towns and cottage type country and the huge Wabanum coal and electrical plant, I headed off.

    Two parks areas were suggested the first being . The trees were bending over in fresh snow on the roads It is a just a small summer camp site with spruce trees and  shore front access to Lake Isle marked by skidoo tracks. The dogs were very antzy to get out of the car and  firstly, chose a trail through the trees ...Snowy quiet, stopped every once in a while to listen for bird calls perhaps chickadees but nothing, Got out the camera and a few shots including this lovely snow covered hanging moss.

    Headed back to the car and down onto the lake...the wind was up so much colder. With free open spaces, the dogs loved running romping and listening for mice and pouncing..  probably spent about an hour and a half here and these are my shots. Reeds and bull rushes along the shore. The sun came out and  just love these bull rushes, snow covered and bursting. Even took a few back to add to my  dried flower bouquets. Well lots of skidoos  and one couple looking at ice fishing who said had tons of chickadees at their bird feeder...my bird count: I did hear and see three ravens, who called and soared over the spruce tops, no doubt not pleased with the dogs.

    The next stop after a brief lunch in the car was over to Seba Beach,,,had the map, looked from Sundance Road, When I was almost giving up saw my one magpie...so had to back track a few times but finally found Range Road 53. In this process did a turn around in a spot thought was well packed due to skiddo tracks. Well Bonnie I should have known better...how many times in Nunavut have I made the same mistake!!!! front wheels dug in and no shovel so ski pole and window scraper had to do ! What te'ed me off abit was one Trans Alta truck with 2 guys in it did stop but said no shovel or time to help push out. Oh well I did eventually rock it out.

    One last ski and guess what flocks of  birds! Knew and could identify some chickadees but the others about 8 - 10 were too far away and call was whit wee. The camera battery was low but got this one shot...can you distinguish between dried leaves and birds?

    Back to meet at the local hotel Wild Rose Cafe by 4:30 PM.

    This group has been doing the count in this area for over 20 years & have this list of  A frequent or expected birds ( mallard, pine grosbeak, ruffled grouse ) B difficult birds to find ( Northern pin tail, Bohemian wax wing, sharp tailed grouse )  to C  ( snow goose, northern flicker, tundra swan) rarer sightings. ... Decided my birds might have been pine siskins, but did NOT count as not positive identification BUT among others saw 2 pileated woodpeckers, flock of snow buntings, northern strike, an owl and bald eagle....probably about 15-20 people participated.

My recent posts..

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories