Day: January 23, 2010

  • TRUST YOUR INTUITION AND FIND THE “HOW”

    As I come to this quiet snowy Saturday morning almost near the end of January the above affirmation  is one I need to hold onto as am in one of those “ life  seems out of balance " times. Nothing overly serious but perspective helps. My writing and sitting with things seems to help get that perspective… to move the inner dialogue outwards.

    So what has the past week been like? A quick glance at those status updates on facebook…it has been full since the ski escape to Jasper. Have just finished a full week that has included:

    • a two day workshop at the Salvation Army a good 2 day CISM conference on "Grief following Trauma"… the reminder that in this process which has its own pace, as caregivers, we need to walk along side, not leading or pushing but just being....presence often more important than words.

    • A side note we have all be concerned on the very tragic situation with the earthquake in Haiti. I hope you have found the right organization for you to give whether large or small.
    • Working days discovered have to come up with a different solution for bored dogs in the yard and overflowing compost heap! Wednesday morning set off to the hospital thinking all was organized with clay baker dinner in the fridge and notes for the granddaughter to load into oven upon her arrival at 3 PM…at 5 PM I picked up the email that she had lost her house key. Yoga with Makayla and Avery...downward dog, sun salutation and warrior pose which looks like one of my arctic carvings! Next morning not only 2 teens off to the bus but dogs to day care and myself off to work on foggy slippery roads all by 8:30 AM!
    • Two days of orientation at the hospital, normally I cover on casual basis obstetrics, but this stint is going to be in Internal medicine…all the interdisciplinary teams are color-coded involve at least 5 different wards and doctors that rotate every 10 days. 
    • Interspersed with this have been two dental appointments..Yeah, yeah! And two morning swims to maintain one’s sanity!

     

    I am heading into three weeks of work at the hospital and days are going to be busy without alot of time for reflection. My concerns perhaps are financial as there is much on the credit card. My income is cyclical and not settled about a contract north in March-April and even wondering if this will come to be or if I should let it go until the summer. There may be a few extra weeks I can at the hospital but wont know until the end of the month. Then there is also the concern about house care and dogs.

     

    I know this will settle and shift and thus TRUST YOUR INTUITION AND FIND THE “HOW”

     

    So to find “the how” has a little bit to do with planning and priorities. The most important thing or one of the most important things is a sense of organization and you have to remember this is the woman who has the pile theory of organization. Both in the house and my day timer.


    Time to launch into that quick “to do” list…

     

    Things to do quick list….Saturday January 23, 2010

    Dogs sleeping, fresh snow falling almost 10 AM and in a better mood than yesterday I am using these to focus:

    • Time and energy are finite and need to be focused in the right direction.
    • Allow my own control and centeredness in the midst of uncertain events.

    Make decisions as best I can, based on the information I have and let the rest go

    Ending on a humorous note…

    Trimming edges of donated stamps that I have to deliver to the Canadian Bible Society is a great way to deal with the frustration of being on hold for the airlines or telephone company!

    HAVE A GOOD WEEKEND ALL!

My recent posts..

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories