Day: January 9, 2010

  • Newly hired social workers.....

    Arctic Bay, a hamlet of just over 400, which is on the NW corner of Baffin Island and about 30 KMs from the old mine site of Nanasivik is one of my favorite places in the high Arctic. I had the privilege of two work stints there in 2006 and 2007 ( you can check out archived blog entries ) Many fond memories and friendships formed personally from my time there. 

    The following news item was forwarded to me and as much as it means will not be able come on a casual basis, I am very, very pleased of this move....

    Monday, January 04, 2010 – 6:30

    CBC North Iqaluit Regional Radio English News

    Newly hired social workers expected in the High Arctic early this year

    Two newly hired social workers are expected in the High Arctic early this year. Quttiktuq MLA Ron Elliott raised the issue in the legislature back in March. He was concerned that Grise Fiord and Resolute Bay had no social workers. Then in the fall, the lone social worker in Arctic Bay transferred out of the community. That left the three High Arctic communities with no one – a situation Elliott says only makes problems worse.

    “Without social workers in the community, it puts an extra stress on the social workers in other communities to try and work with, you know, families. They are working from a distance.”

    The two new hires are expected to settle in Resolute Bay and Arctic Bay and also provide service to Grise Fiord. Elliott says both the social workers are from outside Nunavut. But he says they’ve been in contact with the communities to help understand some of the issues before they arrive.

My recent posts..

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories