Day: April 5, 2014

  • E is for Edmonton, my home town….share yours!

    From my blog title, not difficult to see I am a northern gal and Edmonton is my home base. Born and raised here as well as parents and grandparents, the roots go back a few generations.

    Thought I would share some of my loves and a few dislikes on our city.

    A few of the basics: The capital of the Canadian province of Alberta, Edmonton is located on the North Saskatchewan River DSCN2784 and is in Alberta's central region, most of this area is prairie, but on the edge of northern forest. The 2011 census population was 812,201, making it Canada's fifth-largest municipality and Alberta's second-largest city behind Calgary. There is a traditional rivalry between the two cities.

    What I love about my city

    • Four distinct seasons: DSCN0979 clear, crisp, snowy winters with blue skies,

    slowly approaching springs, DSCN1672  hot dry sometimes  wet summers but no humidity except after thunderstorms DSCN2241

    and often DSCN2948 lingering colorful cool falls

    .DSCN2960 Green and gold the official colours of our university for good reason.

    • Many kilometers of river valley trails for hiking, walking, cycling, x-c sking, DSCN2780 dog walking or just getting away from the city in its midst.DSCN5001
    • No matter what the season there is always a festival going on from Canada Day to1209021451000

    as here downtown on New Year's eve,DSCN5142

    • Live theatre and DSCN5232 local music venues DSCN4060
    • Small craft beer stores like Alley Kat where I can stop with my dogs DSCN5337
    • Our cultural diversity and celebration of this such as with Heritage Days and  DSCN1661 Good Friday march in inner city
    • Political diversity:DSCN7325 believe it or not there is a dash of orange in the sea of blue!

     

    • Modes of transport from the LRT, city buses to a unique trolley car DSCN4771 that runs over the High Level Bridge in the summer.

     

    • Historic districts like Old Strathcona with 100 year old churches and Saturday farmer’s market in old bus barns.DSCN4770
    • Odd things the city has done like IMG_3676the waterfall off the High Level Bridge IMG_3677  and postings in neighbourhoods of little library boxes DSCN6630
    • Outdoor swimming0019_7A - Version 2 in city pools with children's play parks,,,DSCN2758
    • Hot air balloons in the summer DSCN2523

     

    What I love less about my city…

    • Snow at times in March, April, May and September…probably there is a record of a year where of a year where it snowed every month.
    • Time needed to get to the International Airport 25 kms south, just recently introduced a city bus, previously taxi, car or sky shuttle
    • Pot holes and construction season in summer
    • Winter driving on the morning commute to work & speeders on the ring roads DSCN3987
    • Money being spent on a new hockey arena when more worthwhile other development projects
    • Lack of preservation of some historic buildings….if over 50 years old it has to go!
    • Out lying suburbs that rally against social housing in their neighbourhood.
    • New young forward looking mayor and city council

     

     

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories