Day: April 7, 2014

  • F is for Festivals in all seasons

    As I mentioned in my last post, Edmonton is a northern winter city, but one that celebrates year round. Over 60 festivals in the city and thus its local nickname as “the Festival City.”

    but I would like to share a few of my favorites.

    • New Years Eve DSCN5123downtown with fireworks

    and music…DSCN3526inside of our city hall!

    • Ice on Whyte Festival Winter festival, ice sculptureDSCN7162

    skating, sliding DSCN7159

    • Millcreek night lantern walk in February

    DSCN3656

    • Works Art festival down town in June DSCN4601

     

    • Pets in the Park also in late June DSCN4564

     

    • Canada Day DSCN6412 on July 1 with evening fireworks in river valley DSCN6453

     

    • Free Will Shakespeare Festival late June/early July, an outdoor venue in Hawrelak Park
    • Old Tyme Tea fair,DSCN6766 and smaller local church/community events DSCN6784

     

    • Edmonton Folk Music Festival, DSCN4957 an annual four-day outdoor music event held the second weekend of August. DSCN4960

    Over 25,000 attending and  DSCN6603DSCN6606

    quite a sight when Gallagher Hill lights up with candles. The Sunday night all stand and sway to “ Four Strong Winds “ by Gordon Lightfoot….” Think I’ll go out to Alberta the weather’s good there in the fall..”

    • International Fringe Festival, located in Old Strathcona,DSCN4762 an exhibition of alternative theatre, the largest Fringe Theatre Festival in North America,
    • Also in August, outdoor venue in Hawrelak parkDSCN6629
    Labatt Blues Festival
    DSCN6637

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories