Day: April 29, 2014

  • Y is for Yellow…

    DSCN6844 As a photographer and gardener, DSCN6515 yellow is one of my favourite colours and one colour I am attracted to in all situations, except in the choice of clothing ( turns my complexion sallow!! )..

    Sharing a few of my favorite shots!

    Even get abit artistic.DSCN6246

    There is nothing like the crackle of an outdoor fire..DSCN4862

    More from dew after a rain on my garden lilies DSCN4837 to the nodding heads DSCN5050 of ripe sunflowers…

    Yellow can add much yard design..DSCN5580

    Abit of history I found…

    • Yellow, in the form of yellow ochre pigment made from clay, was one of the first colors used in historic times e.g. often used in wall paintings in Ancient Roman villas and towns. Van Gogh was one of the first artists to use commercially-manufactured paints, rather than paints he made himself. He used the traditional yellow ochre, but also chrome yellow, first made in 1809, and cadmium yellow, first made in 1820.
    • Process yellow (also known as pigment yellow, printer's yellow or canary yellow) is one of the three colors typically used as subtractive primary colors, along with magenta and cyan. Painters traditionally regard the complement of yellow as the colour indigo or blue-violet and evident in this cheerful arrangement of pansies DSCN4520

     

    • Here is an example of sunset from the Seattle airport..DSCN5839

     

    • Yellow is the most visible color,DSCN6737 and is particularly attractive to birds and insects.
    • Autumn leaves, yellow flowers, bananas, oranges and other yellow fruit all contain carotenoids, yellow and red organic pigments. Carotenoids are common in many living things; they give the characteristic color to carrots, corn, daffodils,DSCN7371 rutabagas, buttercups, and bananas.

     

    ( Source : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yellow

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories