Day: April 24, 2014

  • U is for Understanding Instructions..Do you?

    Do you ask for directions? Do you read the instructions before assembly of a new project? OR do you launch forward thinking that you can figure it out as you go?

     

    Personally I have always been directionally challenged and a “ hands on” learner. This combination can at times end one up with some odd results…e.g. the year I sewed Sesame Street puppets and the eyes were on the back of the head.

     

    The other thing I find is that projects always take much longer than one estimates. Thus sharing a recent one where a few days ago before a major spring rainstorm predicted I decided to buy and install a new rain barrel at the side of the house.

     

    These things always take longer than planned!

     

    Disarray in corner..old rain barrel sprung a leak and is green one is background sitting there for two or more summers.DSCN7472

    Dug down next to foundation DSCN7473Tree Root right under the garden beam...horrors to get rid of it! DSCN7474

    Packed and slanted away from house..DSCN7476

    Landscaping fabric and rocks and free pallet from Home Depot —

    Painted with last of tin from eco center DSCN7477

     

    Rain barrel assembled and shimmed to balance, downspouts cut and inserted, cedar trimmed and left over wooden edging DSCN7478

     

    Voila! DSCN7479

     

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories