Day: April 25, 2014

  • V is for Vancouver and Victoria

    Again on abit of a travel log theme two of my favorite cities, visited last week for a touch of spring in the pacific northwest, south west corner of British Columbia, our western most province.

    Vancouver officially the City of Vancouver, is a coastal seaport city on the mainland of British Columbia, Canada. The 2011 census recorded 603,502 people in the city, making it the eighth largest Canadian municipality. Vancouver is one of the most ethnically and linguistically diverse cities in Canada; 52% of its residents have a first language other than English. The Greater Vancouver area of around 2.4 million inhabitants .

     

    Canada will host the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup, and several matches will be played in Vancouver, including the final at BC Place Stadium. The 2010 Winter Olympics and 2010 Winter Paralympics were held in Vancouver and nearby Whistler, a resort community 125 km (78 mi) north of the city.

    Victoria is well represented in this video..

    My own experience included DSCN7371 a weekend away to visit with Amelia, my daughter and husband, Sean ( and dog Ilala) and get away from Alberta snow and grunge! DSCN7346 Queen Elizabeth Park,  DSCN7355 a day at Whistler, wandering around UBC with camera, and some good eats. An older tower with vines growing to top and cedar tree in bottom.DSCN7375

     

    DSCN7389Good eats on a Sunday afternoon DSCN7393Ernest's Ice Cream on Fraser St. — in Vancouver. Sunday brunch DSCN7392Fresh pasta rolled out

     

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories