April 2, 2014

  • A is for apple...

     A is for apple and so I begin the first day of my month of blogging contest…working my way through the alphabet!

    DSCN4258

    Apple Blossom time is right around the corner, I promise! DSCN4257

    That is despite Alberta is still covered in snow and below freezing temperatures.

    Apples play a major part of my summer activities, not only the lovely blossoms in my yard but picking 1209121734000 and harvesting unwanted apples in the city.1209151909000

     

    As a board member of a local fruit rescue association OFRE.

    ofre-banner-web

    .our motto is Finding  the Hidden fruit in our City,

    local apples are the most common fruit.

    http://operationfruitrescue.org/

    We will send volunteer pickers to private residences to pick fruit upon request of the home owner, share it with the volunteers, home owner, charitable organizations like the Food Bank & Salvation Army andDSCN6756 also organize canning & preserving events during the fall harvest season.

     

    DSCN6754

    MUCH to look forward as the weather warms! DSCN6755

Comments (11)

  • What wonderful pictures, and I really enjoyed reading all the descriptions. :-)
    I'm visiting from the A to Z challenge.

  • Apples have ALWAYS been a big part of my life, living where I did with other fruit not being as accessible. Nothing's better than an apple picked fresh! Visiting you from the A to Z Challenge-- see you again soon!

    • Karen, much agreed apples are very adaptable fruit! it is indeed a challenge the A to Z Challenge– see you again as well!

  • A wonderful idea. So much urban fruit is wasted. I wonder if there is a similar group in my city. Going to check it out now. Ty.

  • Wow- I wasn't expecting anyone to find my blog on the list with as late as I joined!! Thank you so much for all of your kind words and encouragement. I hope you are able to come back!

    Cheers!

  • Hi, I love the idea of gathering unwanted fruit, never heard of such a group before. What a fun and potentially tasty way to get together with people and too stop waste.

    Last year I got a big bowl of cherries from a local garden -owner would rather be rid of the tree- they're sour as can be but make a delicious cake. Hoping I can do the same this year.

    Grow my own Blueberries, Blackcurrants, Goosegogs and Rhubarb. Its offically summer, summer baking is planned ;)

    • Thanks for stopping by Meep. You sound like a person of my own heart! Sour cherries are called Evans cherries, same size as the Bings and I have a tree in my yard. By letting them ripen into late August they can often be eaten fresh, but alternatively pies, frozen, dried are all alternatives. you might be surprised but even pears grown in our northern city.

  • Love apples...love caramel...love them together : ) Cool that you save fruit and get it donated to those less fortunate! That's awesome!

  • Great post ! I didn't know there were "fruit rescuers" in the world, but what a great idea! I also learned something really cool about Edmonton, which is a city I go to from time to time for work, but have never really seen. I think I will enjoy learning more about it.
    jetgirlcos visiting through A to Z via Forty, c'est Fantastique

    • Fruit rescuers have groups across canada in manitoba and Toronto as well as in Oregon and California. alberta has such a short season but we still even manage to rescue some pears but mostly apples.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories