April 22, 2014

  • S is Spring Sunshine in Sidney by the Sea

    While Alberta and many other parts of Canada struggle with snow and rain recovering from a long winter, the pacific northwest is in full bloomin’ spring!  DSCN7368

    Spent this past week visiting family in Vancouver and Victoria BC, and just enjoy some of my spring photos! DSCN7449

    Here is what their official website indicates for Sidney by the Sea

    http://www.sidneybritishcolumbia.com/

    Sidney

    Aerial View of Sidney-by-the-Sea, Sidney BC

    Set amidst the natural beauty and unspoiled charm of the Saanich Peninsula, the vibrant community of Sidney-by-the-Sea is the gateway to the BC Gulf Islands and the US San Juan Islands. This bustling commercial hub of the Saanich Peninsula is blessed with majestic views of the ocean, the Olympic and Cascade Mountain ranges. Sidney is a tourist's dream - a friendly port with modern marinas and a multitude of unique galleries, gift stores, antique shops, restaurants, bakeries and coffee bars.

     

    Sidney enjoys a moderate Mediterranean type climate with year-round mild temperatures, low rainfall and very little snow!

    Sea side walkways and fish market DSCN7442

    Sidney Marina complexDSCN7450 charters, moorage, rentals

    Fisherman sculpture sitting on bench

    ,DSCN7441

    scenic waterfront walkways with purple heather in rock wall,DSCN7452

    Flowers well many....cherry blossoms in front of my sister's place, DSCN7395

    magnolia trees ready to bloom in many brilliant shades DSCN7358,

    clematis after the rain.DSCN7446

     

Comments (4)

  • Spring is my favorite time of year. It's when signs of life peep through the dreary yuck of winter. While I live in Florida, and our winter is much shorter than most, we still experience the drab browns and when I see the little buds of green explode into color, my heart sings!

    Jamie Dement (LadyJai)
    My A to Z
    Caring for My Veteran

  • Beautiful! I love the heather and cherry blossoms. I'm in Louisiana and our weather has been weird this year. I think our blooming plants are very confused!

  • How lovely, and lucky for you with the weather! Sounds like a "northern" city I could live in! Thanks for commenting on my blog!

  • Nice post Bonnie!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories