April 30, 2014

  • Z is for Zinnias & the letter ZED or is it ZEE?

    WELL FELLOW BLOGGERS IF YOU ARE READING THIS YOU KNOW WE HAVE REACHED THE END!

    I bet we have all had some fun with our letters, here is abit more… Letter Z, floral design. See also letters in my gallery

     

    • Canadians and the British pronounce the letter Z, they pronounce it "zed" instead of "zee," as Americans say it. Why is there a difference between the pronunciations?

     

    "The nutshell story of zed? Zed entered Middle English from French representing a “ts” or “ds” sound, then came to represent the voiced sibilant in, for example, the word zoo.

     

    Because it entered French from Latin as zeta, it became zède in modern French, zeta in modern Spanish and Italian, and zed in English."

     

     http://www.billcasselman.com/cwod_archiv...

     

    • What about Scrabble? I mean, I count on that Z and those 10 points on a triple word score square.

     

    • What about ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ to indicate sleeping?

     

    • An April Fool’s joke that Z would be removed from the alphabet

     

    http://www.dailywritingtips.com/the-letter-z-will-be-removed-from-the-english-alphabet/

     

    • Zinnias  are annual flowering plants that belong to the family Asteraceae. Easy to grow and reliable, zinnias are bright butterfly magnets. images

     

    Plant zinnias! A packet of seeds will fill an area with gorgeous flowers in an amazing array of shapes and colors -- even green!

    Good video below on growing zinnias...

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uTPFhQWZ2E

     

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories