April 8, 2014

  • G is for Gjoa Haven, Nunavut

    In my work stints as a social worker, I had two opportunities to spend time here in spring 2009 and would like to share some of my photos. The overlap between traditional Inuit culture and the encroaching southern one is indeed interesting. e.g. a young mom with a smile packing shirt and toque z190042373

    For more details, just click on Gjoa Haven tags and then blog entries.

    Location:  Gjoa Haven, located about 250 kilometers above the Arctic Circle in the central part of the Nunavut Territory,gjoa_haven and the most western region, the Kitikmeot Region. The name meaning is "lots of fat", referring to the abundance of blubbery sea mammals in the nearby waters, or as Uqsuqtuuq, or ‘place of plenty blubber’, because of the once plentiful seal. z187013744One of the fastest growing communities in the Kitikmeot Region, in 1961, its population was estimated at 100 and now well over 1000. This arctic hamlet is on the southeast coast of King William Island on the Northwest Passage

    History: Of interest it is the nearest community to where the Franklin Expedition perished and often attracts many history buffs from around the world.

    In 1903, Amundsen was attempting the first traverse of the Northwest Passage; by October the straits through which he was travelling began to ice up, and Amundsen put  his ship the Gjøa into a natural harbour on the southeast coast of King William Island. He was to stay there, in what Amundsen called "the finest little harbour in the world", for nearly two years.

    Weather: When I worked in Nunavut we would have “ snow days”: a blizzard, a white out, snow blowing sideways, basically if one can not see the school or hamlet office across the street or uptown across the gully in Gjoa Haven, a snow day is declared and government offices and school are closed everyone locally “knows” that the snow is drifting but it has to be officially declared by four govt departments before closure.z186024478 My Inuit friends could tell me how a blizzard is coming, the temperatures rising from minus 30oC to a balmy 10- 15 oC below and in the warmth there is a lull, a calm in which large flakes scatter through the night and almost Christmas like in March.

    Cultural and Other Activities

    • Traditional string and bone games… z186312243These circle games often done by the Elders involved a dice and when certain number rolled passing a rope with knots and untying or picking up stones in the center.z190042667
    • Anglican Church z189708314
    • Drum dancing z184762348
    • Sewing and reading were my favorite activities in the winter when I went north, including making wall hangings.z187647066

    Dogs: I really have a heart for dogs. z189207857

    In many of the northern communities the only shots available are rabies usually given by a by-law officer….no vets. One of the men working at the clinic had 4 husky pups that he would eventually like to begin a dog team

Comments (12)

  • Wow! That's kinda really AWESOME! Great post!

  • Very interesting!

  • Life in winter above the Arctic Circle is full of challenges -- these games and dances are good ways to soften the challenge. I've always been impressed by the ingenuity of the Inuit!

    • Janet one of the unexpected opportunities I had in Gjoa Haven was when while watching was to drum dance after the drum was laid in front of me while watching. ..really an honour.

  • You're so fortunate to have had the chance to go to the Territories! I grew up in Canada and have managed to get to every province but 2 and none of the territories. Obviously on my bucket list, but not achievable at the moment.

    The Capillary
    http://thecapillary.blogspot.co.uk

    • Thanks for stopping by Christiana! Sounds like you have done pretty well in your travels. yes it costs almost as much to fly to some parts of Nunavut as it does overseas. Airline points are often what some use. Personally have not been to the Yukon and would like to do so.

  • Fantastis Bonnie! I sent a link to my Brother who I know would be interested. Hope your having a great week and keep up the terrific web site.

    • Thanks for stopping by Maryanne! indeed it has been abit of work to keep up with the posts and has sent me back into some of my photos over the last 10 years. like many others the blogging habit dropped off considerably with the advent of social media.

  • Oh, yes -- being invited to do a nataive dance is a true honor -- an indication of respect for you as a trusted person! How wonderful to have had that experience of the drum dance!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories