April 10, 2014

  • I is for Iglu and Inuksuk

    Continuing on my arctic theme would like to share my photos of some of the traditional structures of the Inuit culture.

    IMG_4550

     

    An igloo  (Inuit language: iglu,  or plural: igluit ) Inuit word “iglu” means means “house” and is built in a spiral shape using the snow from the inside of the circle out. IMG_4570 Cutting tools required to build an igloo are a snow spade and a saw, but in traditional times these implements would have been fashioned from bone. Note how the entrance is dug deep enough to allow almost standing height.  IMG_4551By trapping body heat, or the heat produced by even a small burning lamp, the inside of the igloo can stay much warmer than the outside...IMG_4571This heat starts to melt the inside of the igloo and as the inside walls of the igloo start to melt, they become more solid.

    IMG_4552

    My own experience has never been to overnight in an igloo but only to visit  IMG_4569

    ( and crawl inside where they are surprisingly warm )….watching igloo building contests, IMG_4549 a x-c ski with a friend who had built one outside of Kugluktuk and visiting one built by an elder lady in Gjoa Haven.

     

    An inuksuk (plural inuksuit)  inukshuk in English or inukhuk in Inuinnaqtun, is a stone landmark. IMG_0245These mysterious stone figures known can be found throughout the circumpolar world. IMG_0186 Inukshuk, the singular of inuksuit, means "in the likeness of a human" in the Inuit language. They are monuments made of unworked stones that are used by the Inuit for communication and survival, markers for travel routes, fishing places, camps, hunting grounds, places of veneration, drift fences used in hunting or to mark a food cache.

    IMG_3439

    An inukshuk in the form of a human being is called an inunnguaq IMG_4480

    or Innunguak, the ones that are shaped like men. IMG_1810

    This type of structure forms the basis of the logo of the 2010 Winter Olympics, designed  by Vancouver artist Elena Rivera MacGregor. search

     

    The flag of Nunavut search

    was proclaimed on 1 April 1999, along with the territory of Nunavut in Canada.gjoa_haven It features a red inuksuk—an Inuit land marker—and a blue star, which represents the Niqirtsuituq, the North Star, and the leadership of elders in the community.

     

    An excellent video with Peter Irniq explains more details.

     

     

     

Comments (5)

  • I love this series -- a true glimpse into life in the far north! Are igloos used for long-term, or more as shelter in time of need while out hunting/fishing?

    • Traditionally Janet as winter shelter when travelling, more often these days as I mentioned either as igloo building contests,skills for the schools or as tourist attractions.

  • When I was a child, I always wanted to build an igloo, but I lived in Florida. haha

    The stone structures that look like men remind me of pagodas. :)

  • Fascinating. This post makes me rethink the whole isolation theme in "Frankenstein," which I'm currently teaching. Also, I teach both general speech and a dual enrollment communication course and am always looking for interesting topics to suggest to students. I'm saving your blog and looking forward to future posts. via A to Z Challenge

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

My recent posts..

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About me...

An Albertan & Canadian, definitely a northern gal. Social worker by profession, this blog has included some of my work over 10 years in Nunavut from 2002 on. Passionate about slowing down & taking time to appreciate the beauty of the outdoors or kindness in relationships as gifts & blessings; injustices against children in situations beyond their control; my faith; Nature, experiencing the outdoors whether cycling, walking. x-c skiing or gardening, my dogs, capturing on film God's beauty, experiencing life intensely & with the senses, richness of late afternoon light, wind in my hair cycling with my dog on a beach road, couching inches from an arctic flower or alpine lichen to capture it with my camera, insight of a student's new learning, a good conversation over a coffee.

My site meter

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

All of the material on this blog especially my photos are under my copyright. Please do not take anything that does not belong to you without written permission from me and acknowledge sources.

Thank you.

New site meter

Flag counter

Flag Counter

Categories